Various Artists - Afrikan Blood

Various Artists - Afrikan Blood

  • $25.00

New Vinyl

Record Store Day - Black Friday 2020 



Clement Dodd, the founder of the iconic Studio One label, was a fierce proponent of Marcus Garvey's message of self-reliance that he had heard in his youth. Over the years he recorded and produced many songs that expressed the yearnings and feelings of his fellow Jamaicans. Afrikan Blood is a timely release that captures some of the roots reggae songs that speak to the injustices that still exist today. Many of the songs on Afrikan Blood are previously unreleased or unreleased stereo mixes by foundation artists like Alton Ellis, The Gaylads, The Wailing Souls and Freddie McGregor. As Judah Eskender Tafari sings, "Afrikan Blood keeps on flowing through my veins.'

1. Al Campbell & Freddie McGregor - Born A Free Man 
2. Rodley Brissett - Justice & Peace 
3. Judah Eskender Tafari - Afrikan Blood (Take 2) 
4. Lloyd Anderson - The Lion Has Returned (Take 3) 
5. Lloyd & Gerald - Thy Man Look Into Thyself 
6. Dennis Lovelock - King Alpha (Take 2) 
7. The Gaylads - I Am Free 
8. Alton Ellis & Zoot Simms - We're Gonna Climb 
9. The Wailing Souls - Hooray (It's Festival Time)
10. Zoot Simms & Arthur Robinson - Drought 
11. The Viceroys - Rasta Leaves His Footprints (12" Mix) 
12. The Willows - Send Another Moses 
13. Dudley Sibbley - Love In Our Nation (Take 1)
14. Larry Marshall - Freedom Song 



Sold Out